Welcome to Maxi-Pedia Forum. Maxi-Pedia discussion forum is a free community inviting you to express your ideas and discuss various topics with other contributors.

March 19, 2024, 11:21:44 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Most Recent Posts:
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author
Topic: 

How to add sidebar to the theme template in SMF

(Read 36951 times)
atari

« on: October 22, 2008, 03:54:56 pm »

Hi,

I am new to SMF. I want to add a column or sidebar to the left side of my forum.

For example, my forum is now stretched accross the 100% of the page width. I want to adjust the layout so that for example 10% of the page is sidebar followed by 90% of the page for the forum content. In other words, I want to accomplish something like can be seen here. They have a nice sidebar on the left side of the page.

Then, I would like to include two blocks in the left sidebar - most recent topics and most recent posts.

Would anyone know if there is some mod that can be used for this, or if I need to hack the template?

Thanks.
Maxi-Pedia Forum
« on: October 22, 2008, 03:54:56 pm »

mod

« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2008, 04:05:04 pm »

Hi,

Page design is done via layers. See here for more details: http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=145838.0

The top of the page (page header, etc.) is done via function template_main_above() in index.template.php. The bottom part of page is done via function template_main_below() in index.template.php.

The stuff that is between these two sections the main_above and main_below is displayed using various templates depending on which page you are at. When you are at a displayed posts page, the Display.template.php is the file that is responsible for displaying the page content. The function template_main() is where the magic happens.